Waterfall Model

The Waterfall Model is a software development process model that was first introduced in the 1970s . It is also known as a linear-sequential life cycle model . In this model, the software development process is divided into separate phases, and each phase must be completed before the next phase can begin . The phases do not overlap in this model . The following are the sequential phases in the Waterfall Model:

1. Requirement gathering and analysis
2. System design
3. Implementation
4. Integration and testing
5. Deployment of system
6. Maintenance

The Waterfall Model is simple to understand and use, making it one of the earliest SDLC approaches used for software development . However, it has some limitations, such as being inflexible and not accommodating changes well . This model is best suited for projects where requirements are well-defined and unlikely to change during the development process .

Leave a Reply